Personal Update

lockyerI have made several changes that are significant the past two months. One is that I resigned as a family pastor at the church I had been serving for 13 years and made a move back to my roots in education. An opportunity opened at Lincoln Christian School to assist the administration that I accepted. The job entails assisting the superintendent in leadership and staff development throughout the school and work on continued improvements in other areas.

I have been on the job nearly 4 weeks now and it has been great to be back with kids (nearly 700 of them) on a daily basis. Much has changed in the 13 years I have been gone but still enough is familiar that I am quickly fitting in. The reception by the school families has been frankly overwhelming and affirming that God was definitely working to make it happen.

I will continue to pursue to encourage living out the Word through a gospel-centered lens through this blog and have the opportunity to stimulate that in the lives of these students and faculty. I have also been asked to consider giving parenting seminars on a regular basis at the school.

My wife, Deb, and I will be making many adjustments right now but know with certainty at this time that the opportunity before is a gift from God.

About drivingthegospel

I am a follower of Jesus Christ; a husband to Deb; a father to Brit and her husband Bill and to Travis and his wife Megan, a grandfather to Simon, Thadd, Nathanael, Eli, Isaac, Ezra, Asa, and Xavier. I am currently serving as the Coordinator of Spiritual Development at Lincoln Christian School in Lincoln, Nebraska as well as the head wrestling coach and an assistant football coach.

Posted on September 24, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

